Mormon Tea

While I was riding today, I made a point to keep my eye open for some mormon tea (ephedra nevadensis I think).  I saw quite a lot of it but most of it was scruffy and dry.  While I was in the creekbed, I spotted a nice bush and grabbed some to take home.  

 

I took the needles home, cut them into 3 inch pieces, washed them, placed them in a coffe coffee cup, added boiling water, and stirred the water with the needles for 1 minute.  The water turned a brownish amber color.  I removed the needles (to prevent a bitter taste) and took a sip.  It was wonderful.  It tasted like a mixture of black tea and green tea and was a bit sweet.  I really did not expect such a pleasant experience.  

~ by Joshua Long on September 13, 2008.

One Response to “Mormon Tea”

  1. Did you feel any stimulant effects from the tea?

Leave a Reply

 
